Skip to main content

The Symphony No. 3, (Sinfonia Eroica, Heroic Symphony;) is a symphony in four movements by Ludwig van Beethoven.

One of Beethoven’s most celebrated works, the Eroica symphony is a large-scale composition that marked the beginning of the composer’s innovative “middle period”.

In this symphony Beethoven began to use broad strokes of sound to tell us how he felt, and what being alive meant to him. The piece caused a sensation and changed the idea of what a symphony could be.

Composed mainly in 1803–1804, the work broke boundaries in symphonic form, length, harmony, emotional and cultural content. It is widely considered a landmark in the transition between the Classical and the Romantic era.
By late 1803, Beethoven had sketched out his new epic symphony, the Eroica. It was inspired by the ideals of the French Revolution and dedicated to its hero, who then seemed to be the great liberator of the people: Napoleon. But when Beethoven heard the news in late 1804 that Napoleon had crowned himself Emperor of France, he was disgusted. “He’s just a rascal like all the others,” he exclaimed.
Beethoven violently erased Napoleon’s name from his manuscript—so forcefully, in fact, that he erased his way right through the paper, leaving holes in the title page. So this revolutionary piece of music that was originally to be The Bonaparte Symphony became simply Eroica—the heroic.

Gulf Coast Chamber Orchestra: Opening Night

November 5
Music & Arts Community Center
13411 Shire Ln, Fort Myers

A new season begins!
The Gulf Coast Chamber Orchestra performs one of Beethoven’s most celebrated works, the Eroica Symphony.

Tickets start from $38!

Follow us on our social media for more updates:

Gulf Coast Symphony, PO Box 60878, Fort Myers, FL 33906, United States

‹‹ Previous Post
Hurricane Ian Update - Adult Education - Classes start next week
All Posts Next Post ››
Music, Sweets & Halloween Fun!