Skip to main content
April 1
Music & Arts Community Center
13411 Shire Ln, Fort Myers

The string section is the heart of any orchestra and this concert showcases the Gulf Coast Chamber Orchestra’s elite string section.
Featured on this concert is music by some of our greatest living composers, including Musical America’s Composer of the Year,
Jessie Montgomery.

Tickets Start at $35!


Program Jessie Montgomery Starburst
Starburst – this brief one-movement work for string orchestra is a play on imagery of rapidly changing musical colors.
Exploding gestures are juxtaposed with gentle fleeting melodies in an attempt to create a multidimensional soundscape.
A common definition of a starburst: “the rapid formation of large numbers of new stars in a galaxy at a rate high enough
to alter the structure of the galaxy significantly” lends itself almost literally to the nature of the performing ensemble who
premieres the work, The Sphinx Virtuosi.

Peter Boyer Three Olympians
Peter Boyer’s Three Olympians is an impressive work that showcases the characteristics of three of the twelve Olympians.
Boyer’s modernist style is striking through his orchestrations and use of just a string orchestra. From Apollo’s charm, to
Aphrodite’s love and Ares war power, Three Olympians is a real tour-de-force of the Greek Gods.

Jennifer Higdon Dance Card
Dance Card is a celebration of the joy, lyricism and passion of a group of strings playing together! This piece is made up
of five movements, each of which is designed so that it can also be played as a separate work. From a string fanfare, through
gentle serenades, and actual wild dances, the musicians get a chance to highlight their soloistic and ensemble playing.
This work reflects the deep commitment that string players bring to their music making, not only in the many years of learning
to play their instruments, but also in the dedication manifested in gorgeous music-making as an ensemble.

Christopher Theofanidis Visions & Miracles
Visions and Miracles is in three movements, marked by programmatic titles. Movement one, “All Joy Wills Eternity,” derives
from Friedrich Nietzsche’s Thus Spoke Zarathustra (1891). The second movement, “Peace Love Light YOUMEONE” takes its
name from the inscription on Timothy Leary’s crematorial urn. “I Add Brilliance to the Sun,” the title of movement three, is purportedly
from a medieval troubadour. The piece has a Moorish sound, inspired by Spanish medieval music, in fast and alternating beats of two and three.

Josef Suk Serenade for Strings, Op. 6
The Serenade for Strings was written in 1892. After a partial premiere in 1893 and a full premiere in 1895, the work quickly became popular,
and got the nice endorsement of Brahms. It’s in 4 movements: Andante con moto, Allegro ma non troppo e grazioso, Adagio, Allegro giocoso,
ma non troppo presto.

239.277.1700 |

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   Website   Email

Sent to: [email protected]


‹‹ Previous Post
Cooking with Love: Norman Love Confections expands cooking class schedules
All Posts Next Post ››
Catch some fun this weekend on license-free freshwater fishing days