New Visitor? / Register Here

Members / Login Now



20 students receive $10,000 a year for up to four years in scholarship program
Including one from Naples, FL

SIMI VALLEY, CA-June 30, 2015- The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and GE announced last week the 20 students who were awarded the GE Reagan Foundation Scholarship. This scholarship program, which just completed its fifth year, awards students who embody the vision and values personified by President Reagan, including leadership, drive, integrity and citizenship. Each student will receive $10,000 a year, for up to four years, to be applied to student tuition, room, and board while the recipient is pursuing a bachelor’s degree at an accredited U.S. college or university. Over the ten year program, up to 200 four-year college scholarships totaling over $8 million will be awarded.

“As we celebrate the fifth year of this scholarship program, I am deeply impressed and honored by the citizenship and character of these fine leaders,” said John Heubusch, executive director of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation. “These extraordinary young leaders would have made President Reagan proud. They will no doubt leave lasting impacts on our nation in their lifetime.”

GE Chairman and CEO Jeff Immelt said, “GE works to improve every day. Strong leaders, like Ronald Reagan and these young scholars, who are motivated and curious, are necessary to building a better future. We are proud to have President Reagan as part of our leadership tradition and know these leaders will continue his legacy.”

Nearly 13,000 completed applications were received and reviewed from students across the United States. Of the 20 applicants awarded this exclusive distinction, one of the awardees, Anthony Stefan, is from Naples, FL. Anthony’s leadership is driven by the fact that energy and positive attitudes are contagious. He inspires and motivates those around him by believing in the team and persevering, regardless of the challenge. As captain of the football and track teams, his teammates rely on him to rally them toward victory. An artist, Anthony is captain of the team that builds theater sets for the drama club. Outside of school, Anthony works multiple jobs and devotes time to kayaking and to his faith. He was recently named Volunteer of the Year for his local YMCA, has served many hours volunteering at a local health facility and as a car mechanic. Anthony will be study pre-engineering at Florida Southern College in the fall.

An extensive selection process evaluated the following attributes of each candidate:

• Leadership- Scholars pursue leadership roles that have a positive impact in communities and showcase the value of lifelong learning.
• Drive- Firm believers “that our best days are ahead” scholars, have the conviction, ambition, discipline and courage to make their dreams reality.
• Integrity- Rooted in values and ethics, scholars possess the unique combination of integrity, dependability and humility that defined President Reagan’s leadership.
• Citizenship- Scholars are driven by a sense of civic commitment and actively engage in their communities to affect positive change.

The 2015 GE Reagan Foundation Scholarship recipients are:

Peyton DeJong Philip, SD South Dakota State University
Brayden Drevlow Thief River Falls, MN Concordia College: Moorhead
Stephanie Duno Doral, FL University of Florida
Emilee Hamilton Providence, UT Utah State University
Sydney Kamen Washington, DC Dartmouth College
Alexis Kane Bordentown, NJ American University
Timothy Lann Bellingham, WA Stanford University
Jasmine Mays Atlanta, GA Ohio State University
Kassondra Karinda Mink Weiser, ID Northwest Nazarene University
Smythe Mullikin Galveston, TX Southern Methodist University
Christiana Oshots East Point, GA Duke University
Jody Pfeuffer Christoval, TX Texas Tech University
Cindy Rajkumar Ocoee, FL University of Miami
Rose Ridder Port Townsend, WA Swarthmore College
Emma Rider Milton, DE North Carolina State University
Gurpreet Singh Flushing, NY Fordham University
Sarah Smith Brunswick, NE University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Anthony D. Stefan Naples, FL Florida Southern College
Courtney Thurston Des Moines, IA Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Mabel Wong Oakdale, CA University of San Francisco

Learn about all the recipients at:

Information about the 2016 GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program will be available online in the fall.

With a total $15 million grant, GE was the presenting sponsor of the Ronald Reagan Centennial Celebration, a year-long celebration for the President’s 100th birthday in 2011. As part of this partnership, $5 million was committed to establish this 10-year national college scholarship program. The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation is contributing $3 million to the program.